A Blog About Something

Hi Everybody!

Where do I start?

I work as an educator for the majority of the year, and this naturally carries with it a particularly unusual phenomenon in American adults: I get a two-and-a-half month vacation every summer.  So here I am in the midst of enjoying the first week of my summer vacation when I have a realization.

I have too much free time.

It’s not the sort of thing that most people would complain about.  Usually I don’t complain about it myself, but I have an inclination toward laziness and ennui, which means that unless something is set before me to do, I will slowly turn into a lump on the couch forever refreshing my cycle of preferred webpages, looking for that next hit of endorphins that comes with the appearance of new content on the internet.

So, I say to myself, “Why not make some content instead of just sitting there refreshing endlessly?”  And I think that it’s not a bad idea.  The only question then becomes, what kind of content will I create?

Professionally, I’m an educator, and I love hearing about issues related to American education.  Mention standardized testing, and I’m liable to begin ranting about the unfair practices that come with creating an educational system based on an assembly-line factory model, and then who knows when I’ll stop to take a breath.  I might write about education a little bit, though I’ll more likely say something minor and then pass on a link to something written by one of my more intelligent and eloquent friends.

Spiritually, I’m a Christian, and I have a healthy interest in issues relating to how the Church is developing in relation to the rest of the world.  I’m not a huge fan of the culture wars, because I tend to see more division than unity created by them.  I think that Christians have a moral responsibility to improve the world around us in tangible ways that involve more than just evangelism.  Jesus went to the poor and did everything he could to make their lives better; as his followers we have a responsibility to do the same.

Habitually, I’m a gamer.  I love video games; I’ve been playing them since I was a child.  I don’t play all the latest stuff right when it’s released, but I try to stay current on what’s going on in the industry, and I really enjoy discussing issues related to gaming.

There are other topics of interest that I’ll probably touch on as I go about figuring out what my focus is going to be: feminism, writing, fitness, nerd culture in general.  It’s not really anything that ambitious.  Ultimately, my goal is just to move myself to spend my free time in ways that are more creatively satisfying.

So, if you’re reading this, then I suppose I should both welcome you and apologize in advance for anything I might say that comes across as vain and egotistical; I think it takes a certain amount of vanity to say things in a public space with the hope that other people will listen, and I am nothing if not vain.  So, sorry about that!  Otherwise, I hope that whatever gets vomited up on the digital page is worth a little bit of your time.

3 thoughts on “A Blog About Something

  1. Pingback: Slate Tech Writer Says You Won’t Read to the End of This Post | Catchy Title Goes Here

  2. Pingback: The Hero Always Wears Red | Catchy Title Goes Here

  3. Pingback: Yeah, I’m a Feminist | Catchy Title Goes Here

Leave a Reply

