Finally!

After the National Council on Teacher Quality released its Teacher Preparation Rankings a couple weeks ago, I had been hearing a lot of negative reactions to it through Diane Ravitch’s blog, which I started following as a direct result of all the hullabaloo around the NCTQ report.  Like I mentioned in a post earlier this week, I wasn’t sure what the problem was with the report.  It was flawed, yes, but I wanted to know what the concerns about it were in specific terms.

Here’s a critique of the report by Ed Fuller, an education researcher from Texas.  He offers a detailed breakdown of the problems with the report’s methodology, standards, and how the data that it did gather was used inappropriately.

It’s been bugging me that I haven’t seen any in-depth critiques like this up to this point, but I better understand all the fervor opposing the NCTQ’s report now.

Leave a Reply

