My first wedding sermon

This is a lovely wedding sermon, and it reminded me of my wedding. Really good stuff in there. Check it out!

Mercy not Sacrifice

Today I officiated my first wedding for Kevin Colpitts and Mary Vafiadis, a couple who was visiting our church when my wife Cheryl and I preached a sermon on our egalitarian understanding of marriage and decided they wanted me to marry them. Kevin and Mary are very grounded, beautiful people who are exploring Christian spirituality. As part of their counseling process, we practiced praying together, which is the most important part of my marriage even though we don’t do it with as much discipline as we should. So here is my sermon with which I used the same text I use every year for our confirmation retreat: Ephesians 4:14-16.

View original post 1,202 more words

2 thoughts on “My first wedding sermon

    • It’s no problem! I think the sermon is a great one, and it definitely embodies the ideals that my wife and I try to uphold in our own marriage. I think it’s a model that’s worth spreading. Thanks for coming by to comment!

Leave a Reply

