So I’m Writing Again

That’s kind of cool, I guess.

It feels weird coming back to blogging on a semi-regular schedule after taking so much time off, especially since I just finished that long series on talking with a fundamentalist.  I mean, I went from having a new post pretty much daily to posting virtually nothing for about two months.

It’s one of those things that I suspect all bloggers have hanging in the back of their minds: “What am I going to write about next?  How am I going to keep generating content?  What if I just run out of ideas/words/motivation?”  That was part of the reason behind that intense schedule that I was maintaining, if I’m honest.  I wanted to keep this thing going regularly because momentum is a great thing, and being in the habit of coming up with new topics feels great.  You know, you start thinking about what you’re going to write on, and then the ideas keep coming along because that’s just what you do when you have a blog to maintain.

Taking some time off has been really hard on my idea generation habit.

Of course, if I’m fair to myself then I know that there were some good reasons to take a break from blogging back in December.  January and February probably not so much, but I didn’t get back in the swing of things then, and the whole point I’m trying to make here is that inertia sucks.

In fact, it sucks so much that here I am after two weeks of solid updates and the thought of putting something on the page is frustrating me to no end.  I feel like I need something to help jumpstart my thoughts, but I don’t know what.  Honestly, I’d love to get some input on topics.

In the meantime, I’m also trying to get into writing fiction again (I know everyone’s so pleased with the prospect of more of my horrid single draft flash pieces showing up here) through a support group that kind of popped up on the forums at Escape Artists during NaNoWriMo 2014.  In a moment of thinking that giving myself a hard deadline to meet would light a fire under my butt, I agreed to do a monthly writing exchange where I and several other folks post our current fiction projects for critique at Escape Artists’ private crit forum.  My first showing was miserable, mostly because it was little more than the stub of a story, and now I’m trying to muddle through revisions on a short story that I conceived about a year ago but never got around to finishing.

Did I mention that I’ve never done serious revisions on anything I’ve written before?  That’s part of what I’ve enjoyed about the blog format, because it’s very much a fire-and-forget medium where my thoughts go down and if I need to clarify them later, then that’s just another post to write up rather than having to try to fix the first draft.

It’s this kind of lazy attitude that I suspect will keep me from ever getting anything published for actual money, unlike Rachael who just made her first professional sale on a short story she originally wrote in August and has continually revised and refined since then.  It’ll be appearing in the upcoming May issue of Penumbra magazine for anyone who might want to check it out.  I’ve read the story many times through the revision process, and I still think it’s a fantastic piece.

Anyhow, I’m writing again.  Mostly blog stuff (though I’m not doing the crazy post-a-day schedule anymore), but some fiction thrown in too for good measure.  If anyone has any suggestions for things they’d like me to consider, I’m certainly listening.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy writing movie posts (they’re quite fun when they’re about films that are thought-provoking), but that feels a little one-note, especially since I’m not focused exclusively on movie-watching.  What was my tagline again?  Right, thoughts on stories, spirituality, and superheroes.  I guess I should take another look at those topics.

Leave a Reply

