On Doing NaNoWriMo And Not Finishing

So, I took November off from blogging so that I could focus all of my creative energies on working on fiction for National Novel Writing Month.  I’ve done NaNoWriMo for five years in a row now, and this was the first year where I didn’t finish.

Heck, I didn’t even get halfway to fifty thousand words.

Part of the problem was that this was a year where I had absolutely no plan in mind going in.  I tossed around some ideas about continuing the novel that I started last year, but the idea just didn’t grab me, so I never wrote a word on it.  Instead, I developed a concept of doing a series of short stories set in different decades and following the history of a line of superheroes.  It’s goofy and extremely rough in conception, but I had a lot of fun working on it for the first half of the month.  Then I had a weekend where I wasn’t able to get any writing done, and I just petered out.  I was running out of steam on the idea anyhow, and I didn’t have anything else planned, so I decided not to force myself to keep going.

That was kind of a tough decision, mostly because I had the rather understandable perfectionist’s pride going on.  I’ve finished NaNoWriMo for four years running, and then this year I just lost my momentum before the month was even halfway over.  It was a little irritating to break my streak, but I’ve enjoyed taking a couple weeks to not worry about doing any kind of writing.  I feel a lot better about getting back to blogging now (if for no other reason than because nonfiction is so much easier for me to write than fiction).

Anyhow, that’s how my month off from blogging has gone.  I didn’t accomplish all my goals for NaNoWriMo this year, but I’m okay with that, considering the nice break I got.  I’ll be jumping back into a regular schedule this week, with thoughts on some of the things I did over my break, like replaying Chrono Trigger and reading through the first couple entries in the Hyperion saga.

Leave a Reply

