Turkey Pumpkin Chili

We weren’t totally satisfied with the chili recipe we made last time, so Rachael and I decided to try a different one this week.  Because it also happens to be fall, and that is objectively the best time of the year for such things, we picked out a pumpkin chili recipe.

Here’s how it ended up looking:

Turkey pumpkin chili made in the crock pot on my day off.

A post shared by Jason Jones (@jkjones21) on

 

Pretty, right?

If you want to make it yourself, here’s the link to the recipe.

Modifications are thus: I only used a single chopped, seeded jalapeno for heat, and the end product was still plenty spicy (I’m seriously considering cutting it down to half a jalapeno).  You can cut the heat with some crushed crackers or a bit of sour cream.  Also, because I made this on my day off (being a school teacher does have some advantages), I decided to make the chili in a crock pot instead of cooking it on the stove.  I might recommend browning the turkey before putting it in the pot if you do it this way, since I had to pull the meat out halfway through and chop it by hand, but besides that oversight, crock pot chili is remarkably easy in comparison to the cooking directions in the recipe.  Total cook time was probably about seven and a half hours on low heat.

One way to use the leftovers that Rachael pointed out to me is that you can serve the chili over a bed of lettuce with some crackers or corn chips and have a pretty good taco salad.

Leave a Reply

