Roasted Butternut Squash and Red Onions

I’d been planning on trying out this recipe for nearly a month before I finally got around to doing it, mostly because I’m still getting accustomed to the way recipes are laid out in the Jerusalem cookbook (something about the formatting of the ingredient list makes all the recipes seem really intimidating to me), and the last two dishes I tried out ended up being pretty labor intensive.

So I was pleasantly surprised when I threw this recipe together in about half an hour.  I did get to take a shortcut because I already had some tahini sauce made from the last time we had falafel, but after looking over the recipe again it’s really not that bad.  You just use the bake time to mix up the sauce, and then everything should come together in about an hour.

Roasted butternut squash and red onions with tahini sauce, parsley, and za'atar.

A post shared by Jason Jones (@jkjones21) on

The basic recipe can be found here at Ottolenghi’s website (the only variation that I noticed is that the oven temp is lower than recommended in the cookbook; I baked the vegetables at 475 F for thirty minutes and got some lovely blackened edges on everything; I also set off my smoke alarm, but that’s nothing new).  The only thing I omitted was the pine nuts, and that was largely because I couldn’t find them when I was at the grocery store (and also, pine nuts are expensive); the star flavors in this dish are the squash and the tahini sauce though, so it didn’t feel like anything was missing without the nuts.  The consistency of everything is quite tender in the end; I resorted to just eating the squash with my hands because I kept breaking the wedges with my fork, which made it harder to remove the skin (it gets super brittle after baking for so long, so it’s not exactly hard to eat; I’ve just never heard of any dish where you’re supposed to eat the skin off a hard squash).

So, final result is that this dish is way less trouble to prepare than I expected it to be, and it had a really spectacular flavor for the amount of work you put into it.

Leave a Reply

