Shipwrecked! Log 4: Fire Rains From the Skies, and Farming

I’ve fallen behind a little bit in maintaining my survivor’s log, so here’s a quick summary to get you up to speed:

  • I spent some time embellishing my home island with a few spider eggs and fleshy bulbs.  The thinking was that they’d serve as good local defenses in the event of hound attacks, and they might make for a way to passively kill the monkeys that infested the island.  My thinking was… inaccurate on that last part.

Who’d have thought that monkeys, spiders, and eye plants could live in harmony?

  • My first rainy season was remarkably pleasant since I managed to not have any standing water sprout near my base.  I did accidentally set fire to one of my tree groves, so I guess even when I’m not playing Willow things still get a little burny.

I’m still not sure how that happened.

  • My first summer was extremely bumpy, and I had to do my cheaty trick to avoid losing my progress after Warly took a meteor to the head on several different occasions (I have resolved that I don’t care about cheating in this way; I am bad at this game, and the permadeath mechanic has always discouraged me from playing more in the past).  Despite those setbacks, I have a designated summer home that is riddled with rocks and flint.

Guess how this ended.

  • Warly always craves variety in his food, so I’m constantly cycling through a list of standard crockpot dishes.  I’ve found that meatballs, honey nuggets, and pierogies make a decent food cycle, and they have a lot of overlap in necessary ingredients so my fridge isn’t constantly overwhelmed with having to hold too much.

I think that brings us up to speed.  In the second calm season, I devoted some time to exploring and gathering up mounds of poop to make some farms.  It occurred to me that Warly might love the prospect of eating dragon fruit pies, but that would require that I develop some infrastructure, so I did.  What I found quickly was that I could grow bunches of sweet potatoes.  In Shipwrecked, sweet potatoes are like carrots; they spawn naturally in certain biomes, and they last a long time without rotting, but there are a finite number of them on the map.  The wisdom generally is that you shouldn’t rely on sweet potatoes, and it’s best to just leave them in the ground as potential emergency food.  Of course, if you build a farm, there’s a chance that some seeds you plant will give you sweet potatoes (yeah, all vegetables grow from seeds in this game; it’s weird).  More importantly, Warly has a unique recipe that involves sweet potatoes and eggs.  I got a little caught up in the idea of building a steady supply of sweet potatoes so Warly could have himself some souffle whenever he wants.

Of course, the calm season doesn’t last forever, so I had to cope with the stormy season.  The funny thing about getting through one year of a Don’t Starve game is that the second year almost always feels much easier.  I decided to go exploring while the first storm of the season was gearing up, and I had no concern at all for it since I was decked out with a lightning-proof hat and plenty of foodstuffs.

This is actually fine.

I also learned that I love the stormy season for what it does to my crops.  The incessant rain makes it so that my farms were producing about once a day, which is really fast.  I had all the sweet potatoes.

I’m at the point now where I’m thriving pretty well.  My farms could use some more expansion (I still hope that I’ll be able to produce reams of dragon fruit someday), and there’s still a bunch of space left unexplored on my map.  At this point it’s mostly just a matter of finding the time to go do it.

 

Leave a Reply

